## THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA: A RICH HISTORY

**1845** Congress organizes Florida as one judicial district, authorizes one judgeship. **1846** Isaac H. Bronson appointed as first Judge of the United States District Court for the District of Florida. **1847** Congress divides Florida into Southern and Northern Districts: Judge Bronson is assigned to the Northern: William Marvin is appointed first judge of the Southern District. **1864** Thomas J. Boynton is appointed to replace Judge Marvin. **1871** John McKinney is appointed to replace Judge Boynton. **1872** James W. Locke appointed to replace Judge McKinney. **1879** First federal courthouse for Southern District of Florida built in Tampa. **1906** Court sits in Miami for the first time. **1912** Judge Locke retires after 40 years of service. **1913** Rhydon M. Call appointed to replace Judge Locke. **1914** First permanent structure for the Southern District Court built in Miami. 1922 Temporary judgeship authorized for Southern District. 1924 Lake Jones appointed. 1929 Additional judgeship authorized; Alexander Akerman appointed to fill new seat; Halsted R. Lockwood replaces Judge Call. 1930 Additional judgeship authorized for Southern District. 1931 Louie W. Strum appointed to fill new seat. **1933** New Miami Federal Courthouse completed, still in use today; United States District Court for the Southern District sits in Orlando for the first time. **1934** John W. Holland appointed to replace Judge Ritter. **1935** Court sits in Fort Pierce for the first time. **1940** William J. Barker fills seat vacated by Judge Akerman; One temporary judgeship authorized to serve both Northern



## THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA: A RICH HISTORY

**1976** Sidney M. Aronovitz replaces Judge Mehrtens; federal courthouse in Fort Lauderdale is completed; Judge Fay appointed to Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals. 1977 William M. Hoeveler replaces Judge Fay. 1978 Five additional judgeships authorized for Southern District of Florida; Jose A. Gonzalez, Jr., appointed to replace Judge Fulton. **1979** Edward B. Davis, James W. Kehoe, James C. Paine, Eugene P. Spellman and Alcee L. Hastings fill new seats. **1980** Congress assigns Southern District to newly-established Eleventh Circuit. **1983** Lenore Carrero Nesbitt replaces Judge Atkins; Federal Courthouse Tower in Miami opened. **1984** Three additional judgeships authorized. **1985** Stanley Marcus, Thomas E. Scott, Jr., and William J. Zloch fill new seats. 1986 Kenneth L. Ryskamp replaces Judge Eaton. 1999 Federico A. Moreno replaces Judge Hastings; additional judgeship authorized. **1991** Donald L. Graham replaces Judge Aronovitz; Shelby Highsmith replaces Judge Scott. 1992 K. Michael Moore replaces Judge Spellman; Ursula M. Ungaro-Benages appointed to new seat. **1993** Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr., replaces Judge Hoeveler; Federal Justice Center completed in Miami. 1994 Daniel T. K. Hurley replaces Judge Paine. 1995 Joan A. Lenard replaces Judge King. 1996 Federal Justice Center renamed James Lawrence King Federal Justice Building. 1997 Judge Marcus appointed to Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals; Donald M. Middlebrooks replaces Judge Kehoe; Alan S. Gold replaces Judge Gonzalez. 1998 William P. Dimitrouleas replaces Judge



Roettger; Patricia A. Seitz replaces Judge Marcus. \*\*P\$\$\mathcal{9}\mathcal{9}\ Adalberto J. Jordan replaces Judge Nesbitt. \*\*2000\*\* Paul C. Huck replaces Judge Ryskamp. Judge Davis retires after 21 years of service. \*\*2000\*\* Additional judgeship authorized for Southern District. Kenneth A. Marra fills new seat; Judge Nesbitt passes away after 18 years of service on the bench. \*\*2002\*\* Jose E. Martinez replaces Judge Davis; One temporary judgeship authorized for the Southern District. James I. Cohn fills temporary seat; \*\*2003\*\* Cecilia M. Altonaga replaces Judge Highsmith; Judge Roettger passes away after 31 years of service on the bench; Judge Ferguson passes away after 10 years of service on the bench. \*\*2004\*\* Marcia G. Cooke replaces Judge Ferguson. \*\*2000\*\* New Federal Courthouse opens in Miami, Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr. United States Courthouse. \*\*2000\*\* United States Courthouse in Miami renamed C. Clyde Atkins United States Courthouse. \*\*2000\*\* Judge Highsmith retires after 18 years of service. \*\*2010\*\* U.S. Post Office, Custom House, and Courthouse in Key West renamed Sidney M. Aronovitz United States Courthouse; Judge Paine passes away after 31 years on the bench. \*\*2010\*\* Kathleen M. Williams replaces Judge Hurley; Robert N. Scola, Jr. replaces Judge Huck. \*\*2010\*\* Robin S. Rosenbaum replaces Judge Gold; Judge Jordan elevated to Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals.